2002 Caldecott and Newbery Medal Winners Announced

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

David Wiesner, author and illustrator of The Three Pigs (Kids' Book Sense 76 Pick, Spring '01), has been named the winner of the 2002 Randolph Caldecott Medal, and Linda Sue Park has won the 2002 John Newbery Medal for her novel A Single Shard. The awards, honoring outstanding writing and illustration in children's books published in the U.S. during the previous year, were announced yesterday at the American Library Association's midwinter meeting in New Orleans. Both titles are published by Clarion Books, a division of Houghton Mifflin.

Three Caldecott Honor Books were also named: Martin's Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Doreen Rappaport (Hyperion/Jump at the Sun); The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins: An Illuminating History of Mr. Waterhouse Hawkins, Artist and Lecturer (Kids' 76, Winter '01), illustrated by Brian Selznick and written by Barbara Kerley (Scholastic); and The Stray Dog (Kids' 76, Spring '01), by Marc Simont (HarperCollins).

Everything on a Waffle by Polly Horvath (FSG) and Carver: A Life in Poems by Marilyn Nelson (Front Street) were named Newbery Honor Books.

Among the other awards announced by ALA were the 2002 Coretta Scott King Awards. Author Mildred D. Taylor won for The Land (Teen 76, Vol. 1,'02) (Penguin Putnam/Fogelman), and Jerry Pinkney won the King Illustrator Award for Goin' Someplace Special, written by Patricia McKissack (Atheneum/Schwartz). The Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award went to Jerome Lagarrigue, illustrator of Freedom Summer, written by Deborah Wiles (Atheneum/Schwartz).

An Na won the third annual Michael L. Printz Award, for excellence in literature for young adults, for A Step from Heaven (Front Street).

The Robert F. Sibert Award, for the most distinguished informational book for children, was awarded to Susan Campbell Bartoletti for Black Potatoes: The Story of the Great Irish Famine, 1845-1850 (Houghton Mifflin).