BTW News Briefs

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
NECBA Publishes Kids' Spring List & Reviews

The New England Children's Booksellers Advisory Council has published its Interactive Spring Top Ten List and Full Spring Reviews online. NECBA chair Kenny Brechner, of Devaney, Doak & Garrett Booksellers in Farmington, Maine, told BTW, "There is also a nifty new Spring Top Ten Poster and an Indiebound Spring Top Ten widget."

The NECBA lists, which are published bi-annually, identify new, high-quality middle-grade and young-adult fiction books.

Barbara Kingsolver Wins 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction

Barbara Kingsolver was named the winner of the 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction for her sixth novel, The Lacuna (Harper), at an awards ceremony on June 9 in London.

Announcing the winner, Daisy Goodwin, the chair of judges, said: “We chose The Lacuna because it is a book of breathtaking scale and shattering moments of poignancy.” The Orange Prize celebrates excellence, originality, and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. Kingsolver receives a check for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze known as a "Bessie," created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.

Boston Globe–Horn Book Honor Excellence in Children’s Literature

The 2010 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards, recognizing excellence in children’s and young adult literature, were announced on June 8.

This year's winners are:

  • Fiction and Poetry: When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (Lamb/Random House)
  • Nonfiction: Marching for Freedom: Walk Together, Children, and Don’t You Grow Weary by Elizabeth Partridge (Viking)
  • Picture Book: I Know Here by Laurel Croza, illustrated by Matt James (Groundwood)

Honor books were also named in each category. The full list is available at

Griffin Trust Awards Poetry Prize

Canada's Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry announced the winners of its 10th annual prizes at a ceremony last week in Toronto. The international winner is Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin's The Sun-fish, published by The Gallery Press. The Canadian winner is Karen Solie's Pigeon, published by House of Anansi Press.

The prizes are awarded for first edition books of poetry written in, or translated into, English, and submitted from anywhere in the world.